Nigeria 36 States, Capital and Slogan

Names of Nigeria’s 36 States with their Capitals and Slogan

Last Updated on October 18, 2023 by admin

Nigeria, often referred to as the “Giant of Africa,” is a diverse country located in West Africa. With its rich cultural heritage and vibrant history, Nigeria is home to 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT)Abuja , each with its own unique identity.

Understanding the names of these states, their respective capitals, and slogans provides valuable insight into the nation’s geographical landscape and regional diversity.From Lagos, the bustling economic hub and former capital city, to Abuja, the purpose-built administrative capital situated in the center of the country; Nigeria’s capitals reflect its dynamic growth and development.

Moreover, each state has a distinct slogan that encapsulates its essence or aspirations. These slogans often highlight cultural heritage, economic potential or natural resources.

Kano State derives its name from an ancient city known for its rich history and vibrant trade routes.

Rivers State owes its name to the numerous rivers that crisscross its territory. Some state names are derived from prominent landmarks or ethnic groups residing within their boundaries. Moreover, every state has a capital city that serves as its administrative hub.

Lagos State’s slogan “Centre of Excellence” symbolizes its status as Nigeria’s economic hub and a center for innovation and development.

Similarly, Ogun State’s slogan “Gateway State” signifies its historical role as a gateway to Nigeria from neighboring countries. These slogans also serve as a reminder of the struggles and triumphs experienced by each state throughout history.

They embody the collective hopes for progress, unity, and prosperity. Furthermore, these slogans foster a sense of pride among Nigerians by highlighting their state’s unique characteristics.

Nigeria is home to a wealth of natural resources, most notably significant reserves of petroleum and natural gas. Niger is to the north of Nigeria, Chad and Cameroon are to the east, the Gulf of Guinea in the Atlantic Ocean is to the south, and Benin is to the west. Nigeria has a total land area of 356,669 square miles (923,768 sq km).

In terms of government, Nigeria is divided into six geopolitical zones. Each zone is made up of at least six states, and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja, is the center of government. Nigeria is a federation of 36 states and capitals and one Federal Capital Territory in West Africa.

It has about 250 distinct cultural groups, the most prominent of which are the Hausa/Fulani, Yoruba, and Igbo.For the purpose of this article we are going to list Nigeria’s 36 states, as well as its capital and slogan

Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria

Depending on location, each state falls under any of these six geopolitical zones.

  1. North Central: Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, and Plateau States, as well as the Federal Capital Territory.
  2. North East: Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, and Yobe States.
  3. North West: Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, and Zamfara States.
  4. South East: Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu, and Imo States.
  5. South-South/Niger Delta: Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Edo, and Rivers States.
  6. South West: Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, and Oyo States.

Nigeria 36 States, Capital and Slogan

1 ABIA UMUAHIA God’s own state.
2 ADAMAWA YOLA Land of Beauty
3 AKWA-IBOM UYO Land of Promise
4 ANAMBRA AWKA Light of the Nation
5 BAUCHI BAUCHI Pearl of Tourism
6 BAYELSA YENOGOA Glory of all lands
7 BENUE MAKURDI Food Basket of the Nation
9 CROSSRIVER CALABAR The People’s Paradise
10 DELTA ASABA The Big Heart
11 EBONYI ABAKALIKI Salt of the Nation
12 EDO BENIN Heart Beat of Nigeria
13 EKITI ADO-EKITI Land of Honour and Integrity
14 ENUGU ENUGU Coal City State
15 GOMBE GOMBE Jewel in the Savannah
16 IMO OWERRI Eastern Heartland
17 JIGAWA DUTSE The New World
18 KADUNA KADUNA Centre of Learning
19 KANO KANO Centre of Commerce
20 KATSINA KATSINA Home of Hospitality
21 KEBBI BIRNIN-KEBBI Land of Equity
22 KOGI LOKOJA The Confluence State
23 KWARA ILORIN State of Harmony
24 LAGOS IKEJA Centre of Excellence
25 NASSARAWA LAFIA Home of Solid Minerals
26 NIGER MINNA The Power State
27 OGUN ABEOKUTA The Gateway State
28 ONDO AKURE The Sunshine State
29 OSUN OSHOGBO The State of the Living Spring
30 OYO IBADAN Pacesetter State
31 PLATEAU JOS Home of Peace and Tourism
Treasure Base of the Nation
33 SOKOTO SOKOTO Seat of the Caliphate
34 TARABA JALINGO Nature’s Gift to the Nation
35 YOBE DAMATURU Pride of the Sahel
36 ZAMFARA GUSAU Farming is our Pride
37 FCT ABUJA Centre of Unity.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top