Ekiti Governorship Election: A mockery of democracy – ADP



The National Chairman of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), Engr. Yabagi Yusuf sani has observed that the just concluded Governorship election in Ekiti State is a mockery of democracy saying that the will of the was sacrificed on selfishness and personal aggrandizement.

The party accused the Independent National Commission (INEC) of not meeting the election global standard it promised the nation doing the opposite by looking away.

In a press statement in Abuja on Wednesday, Engr. Yabagi; “The Ekiti Governorship election makes a mockery of democracy as the will of the people was sacrificed on the altar of selfishness and personal aggrandizement;

to the extent that the APC/PDP led governments, are using poverty as a state policy to compromise citizens to sell their conscience, for a ‘pot of porridge’.

“Regrettably, in spite of all the assurances from INEC that the processes would be free and fair, in conformity with globally accepted democratic standards, the election was anything far from this as the election was marred with irregularities”.

The party pointed that the heavy securities build –up in the state during the election; put the entire state under siege and undue tension. This state of affairs, he said; “made any genuine democratic activity, a herculean task”.

The ADP Chairman noted that history and posterity will not forgive this generation of Nigerian Leaders if they fail to preserve democracy as a legacy which we must hand over to our children saying;

“The entire electoral process must be sanitized to ensure that, no single Political Party takes advantage of its position to pervert the will of the people. The willful perversion of democratic principles in any election is an open invitation to chaos and anarchy.

“INEC has demonstrated that our democratic aspirations cannot be entrusted into its hands. What is now required, is a complete overhaul of INEC to rid it of its current partisan disposition”.

The Ekiti State Governorship election was held in sixteen Local Government Area Councils on Saturday, 14th July 2018 with INEC declaring the APC flag bearer, Dr. Kayode Fayemi winner.

Culled from Dailytimes.NG

You can share this